Assembly Watch

There will be a special session specifically to pass the first quarter budget revision on Monday April 28th at 5:00 PM.  Public testimony was continued, so you have an opportunity to weigh in on the proposed revisions to the budget.


On April 15th the 2014 Municipal election was certified, and Petersen and Evans were sworn in along with the incumbents who won their re-election bids.  Only 23.49% of the registered voters voted in the April 1st election.  All bonds and propositions passed with sizeable margins, except for Prop 3, Capital Improvements, which failed by 14 votes.

The next Assembly meeting will be April 22nd, and the first quarter budget is due for review.


Election turnout was just 19.4% according to the ADN.  With 6,000 absentee and early ballots yet to count, two races and one bond proposition remain too close to count.

In the Trombley Peterson race in East Anchorage, Peterson leads by  336 votes.  In South Anchorage Bill Evans leads Bruce Dougherty by 212 votes.  Prop 3, Capital Improvements is the only proposition to possibly fail.  It is currently down by 289 votes.

The early and absentee ballots counting will begin on Monday April 7th and continue until completed.

There will be a regular Assembly meeting on Tuesday April 8th with the current members in session.  The new members will not take their seats until the election is certified.


The 2014 Regular Municipal Election will be held on Tuesday, April 1, 2014.

Early Voting has begun at City Hall & Loussac Library!

All ballots will be available at this location, Monday – Saturday 10 am to 6 pm and Sunday Noon to 5 pm.

The League of Women Voters has prepared a ballot review showing all 9 propositions on this April’s ballot.  You can find it at this link:

Assembly Candidates:  Winners in blue, leading in brown

District 1 – Seat B – Downtown: Patrick Flynn, Mark Martinson

District 2 – Seat C – Eagle River/Chugiak: Bill Starr, Sharon Gibbons

District 3 – Seat E – West Anchorage: Tim Steele, Phil Isley

District 4 – Seat G – Midtown Anchorage: Elvi Gray-Jackson

District 5 – Seat I – East Anchorage: Pete Petersen, Adam Trombley, Mao Tosi

District 6 – Seat K – South Anchorage: Bill Evans, Pete Nolan, Bruce Dougherty

School Board Candidates:

Seat C: Liz Ross, Pat Higgins, Dean Williams

Seat D: Don Smith, Kameron Perez-Verdia


The regular meeting of the Anchorage Assembly was held March 25th, 2014.

The FY 2014-2015 Proposed Anchorage School District Budget had its first hearing before the Assembly and the public hearing has been continued to the April 8th meeting. The total budget is $743,449,248 of which $233,776,423 comes from local property taxes and other local sources. During the discussion leading up to the vote on postponing action on the school district budget Pat Flynn said, “We get to approve the school district budget, we don’t get to meddle in their affairs.”

Public disclosure of the addresses of people requesting an absentee ballot, was amended to provide an “opt out” on the application form, mirroring the state statute. It passed, as amended by 6-4, with one absent. Flynn, Traini, Gray-Jackson, and Honeman were the NO votes.

The issue of the Muldoon park and Mayoral veto were not on tonight’s agenda. The parks & recreation board has asked to be allowed to review and address this after the election.



The regular meeting of the Anchorage Assembly was held March 11th, 2014.

They unanimously passed a resolution in support of a Variable Benefit Retirement System for public safety employees engaged in protective occupations, that is currently being discussed by the State Legislature.

An attempt to allow public disclosure of the name and residence address of absentee voters was postponed until 3/25/14.  If a voter has designated the residence address as confidential in accordance with state law, the address will be treated as confidential under this code.

The Election Commission opposes this change.

This has been vetoed by the Mayor.

Dedication of the old Muldoon Greenhouse tract of land on Muldoon Road, as permanent park land was passed, 9-2, after some very contentious discussion between Assembly members.

Hall, Trombley, Flynn, Gray-Jackson, Honeman, Johnston, Starr, Steele and Traini voted Yes

Birch and Demboski voted No.

The next Assembly meeting will be Tuesday March 25th.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to Newsletter Like on Facebook